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The Virginia Department of Social Services (VDSS) and the Office of Comprehensive 
Services (OCS) are receiving many questions regarding the local implementation of VDSS 
Broadcast #9088 “Clarification regarding the Provision of Services to Youth who turn 18 
while in Foster Care.”  While the individual questions are being answered directly, there 
are several repeated questions of broader applicability for which answers are provided 
below. 
 
Question #1:  Are children receiving Independent Living Services (IL) “mandated” by the 
Comprehensive Services Act (CSA)? If so, is the IL stipend of $644 a month the only 
allowable service? 
 
Response:  The Code of Virginia (§63.2-905; §2.2-5211; §2.2-5212) requires that youth 
who are eligible for “foster care services”…“including but not limited to independent living 
services” (COV §63.2-905) are eligible and mandated for services under the 
Comprehensive Services Act.  IL services are identified as a foster care service appropriate 
for former foster youth who are now ages 18-21 (COV §63.2-905; §63.2-905.1).  Youth in 
this age range are “otherwise eligible for mandated services.” (COV §2.2-5212 B).    
 
The IL stipend is not the only service which may be provided to former foster youth over 
the age of 18 who are eligible for IL Services.  IL services are defined by federal and state 
child welfare laws, regulations and policies.  The VDSS IL services definition incorporates a 
broad range of IL services to support and promote self-sufficiency for youth ages 18-21. 
 
If a youth’s eligibility is established, and the Family Assessment and Planning Team (FAPT) 
recommends individualized IL services, and the Community Policy and Management Team 
(CPMT) authorizes funding, then the state and local governments are obligated to 
“appropriate such sums of money as shall be sufficient” to support these IL services.  (COV 
§2.2-5211). 
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Question #2:  Can maintenance payments, including those determined by the VEMAT, be 
made to a foster parent for a youth age 18 or older who remains in the foster home?  
 
Response:  No, with limited exceptions.  To understand this response, it is necessary to 
review the statutory authority given to a local DSS. Please see the excerpt from the Code 
of Virginia below: 
 
§63.2-900. Accepting children for placement in homes, facilities, etc., by local boards. 
A. Pursuant to § 63.2-319, a local board shall have the right to accept for placement in 
suitable family homes, children's residential facilities or independent living arrangements, 
subject to the supervision of the Commissioner and in accordance with regulations 
adopted by the Board, such persons under 18 years of age as may be entrusted to it by the 
parent, parents or guardian, committed by any court of competent jurisdiction, or placed 
through an agreement between it and the parent, parents or guardians where legal 
custody remains with the parent, parents, or guardians… The local board shall, in 
accordance with the regulations adopted by the Board and in accordance with the 
entrustment agreement or other order by which such person is entrusted or committed to 
its care, have custody and control of the person so entrusted or committed to it until he is 
lawfully discharged, has been adopted or has attained his majority.  (Italics added.) 
 
The Code of Virginia (§63.2-900) gives local Departments of Social Services (LDSS) the 
authority to “accept for placement” children under the age of 18.  This authority (custody, 
entrustment or commitment) to place this child ends when “he is lawfully discharged, has 
been adopted or has attained his majority.”  Thus youth 18 or older are no longer in the 
custody of LDSS, may not be not “placed” by LDSS, and may not receive “placement” 
services such as maintenance payments to foster parents to care for the youth.   
 
The exceptions for when maintenance may be paid for a youth over the age of 18 are 
outlined in Broadcast #9088 (when youth are subject to a court approved permanent 
foster care agreement; or a youth is age 18, in school, and will graduate prior to his/her 
19th birthday).  
 
Question #3:  Can maintenance payments be made to a Licensed Child Placing Agency 
(LCPA) to cover the costs of room and board, personal incidentals, clothing, etc. for a 
youth in an IL living arrangement? 
 
Response:  No, maintenance may not be paid to LCPAs who are coordinating IL 
arrangements for youth ages 18 or older either in a former foster home or an apartment.  
Maintenance payments are made to a foster parent or an LCPA to provide for the child’s 
shelter, food, clothing, etc. only for a child in the custody of LDSS.  Youth ages 18-21 in IL 
arrangements are not in the custody of LDSS.  The youth’s stipend, however, may be used 
to pay housing costs or rent as part of an IL arrangement with a family or an LCPA. 
 
Again, the exceptions for when maintenance may be paid for a youth over the age of 18 
are outlined in Broadcast #9088 (when youth is subject to a court approved permanent 
foster care agreement; or a youth is age 18, is in school, and will graduate prior to his/her 
19th birthday).  

http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/63.2-319/


 
Question #4:   Title IV-E permits the payment of maintenance for a youth to continue in a 
foster home if the youth is 18 years old, is in school, and will graduate from high school 
prior to his/her 19th birthday.  Does this same provision apply to youth whose placements 
are supported by CSA? 
 
Response:  Yes.  Youth in foster care placement who are age 18, but will graduate by their 
19th birthday remain eligible for maintenance payments through the graduation month, 
regardless of the payment source.   
 
Question #5:   Our locality has heard the deadline for transitioning youth ages 18-21 that 
are not otherwise eligible for foster care placement is July 1, 2015.  Is this date accurate? 
 
Response:  No.  There is no deadline or date by which these identified youth must be 
transitioned to alternative living arrangements or funding transitioned to long-term 
funding streams.  Emphasis is currently placed on the responsibility of the LDSS and the 
Family Assessment and Planning Team to develop plans for transition to services that 
meet the definition of IL services and/or to identify funding streams which are sustainable 
into the future to meet the youth’s individual needs.   As each youth’s circumstances and 
complexity of needs varies, it may be easier to accomplish transition more quickly for 
some youth than others.   
 
As stated in the Broadcast, local departments should not enter into new placement 
agreements for youth who are not eligible for foster care placements. 
  
Question #6: What services are allowable to be provided to youth in IL arrangements? 
Specifically, what services can LCPAs or other community providers offer that would be in 
compliance with Broadcast #9088 and CSA guidelines? 
 
Response:  Individualized wrap-around services may be developed by the FAPT and 
purchased from providers, including LCPAs, for youth in independent living arrangements, 
whether they are in former foster homes or apartments.  Categories of independent living 
services are listed in the VDSS Foster Care Manual, Section 14.10 and include, but are not 
limited to,  academic support, budget and financial management assistance, mentoring, 
career preparation, health education and risk prevention, and supervision of IL apartment 
arrangements.  For more information about IL services, please see 
Section_14_achieving_permanency_for_older_youth.pdf 
 
Please continue to contact your Regional Permanency Consultant with questions about 
specific case situations.  For difficult or hard-to-resolve circumstances, please contact Carl 
Ayers with VDSS at Carl.E.Ayers@dss.virginia.gov.   For questions about CSA, please 
contact Carol Wilson with OCS at carol.wilson@csa.virginia.gov or (804) 662-9817.   
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